BIHMR research diversity on show at first ECR-led research support awards

On Thursday 3rd October 2019 the BIHMR Early and Continuing Researcher (ECR) network presented their inaugural ECR-led research support award at the BIHMR ECR conference, hosted by the School of Health Sciences. The conference provided opportunities for ECRs to network, develop research skills and showcase their work. Staff from the School of Health Sciences and across the College of Human Sciences joined ECRs for a networking lunch and poster presentations.

The ECR-led research support award was to recognise and show appreciation for the support given by staff from the School of Health Sciences to Early and Continuing Researchers. 

Modelled on the student-led teaching award process, ECRs were invited to nominate a member of staff, providing examples of excellent support and encouragement they had received. An ECR panel, with support from Rob Samuel, organiser of the student-led teaching award, considered nominations and shortlisted four members of staff, including Carys Jones, Julia Hiscock and Sion Williams, with Rhiannon Tudor Edwards winning overall. All were delighted to have been shortlisted for this inaugural award, with Rhiannon Tudor Edwards saying “I was amazed and honoured to receive this award. Seeing the development and flourishing of early and continuing researchers is one of the most rewarding parts of a senior academic role. I am a believer in bi-directional mentoring – I have learnt a lot from the ECRs at Bangor.” 

Other highlights of the day included a keynote address from Ken Perry of Do-Well (UK) ltd on systems leadership and imposter syndrome. Claire Fewson from Wiley publishing gave insights from a publisher’s perspective and Lorelei Jones from the School of Health Sciences gave insight from an author and reviewer’s perspective. There were also a series of talks about ECR career histories and experiences (Jess Roberts, Ned Hartfiel, Catherine Sharp and Nathan Bray) and research development and management (Alison Wiggett, Saskia Pagella, Neil Harold, Claire Davis) and BIHMR (Paul Brocklehurst). Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research David Thomas spoke about the complexities of working in research and his support for ECRs was greatly appreciated.

The posters displayed over lunch showed the breadth and depth of research being conducted by ECRs across BIHMR and included issues such as social exclusion, fracture rehabilitation, dementia, public health & mindfulness.

Picture : Overall winner Prof. Rhiannon Tudor-Edwards (top left) with fellow nominees (Dr Sion Williams, Dr Carys Jones, Dr Julia Hiscock)Picture : Overall winner Prof. Rhiannon Tudor Edwards (top left) with fellow nominees (Dr Sion Williams, Dr Carys Jones, Dr Julia Hiscock)

Publication date: 14 October 2019